2024 Governor's Arts Award

2024 Governor's Arts Award
Event Hosted By
Arkansas Arts Council
See all AAC Events
Mar 08, 12:00PM
Mar 08, 01:30PM
Add To calendar
426 West Markham Street, Little Rock, Arkansas, US
Get Directions
Share This Event
Event Contact

Event Contact

Cheri Leffew

Special Projects/Events Manager

Governor's Arts Awards Tickets on Sale Now

Come honor artists, arts educators, and arts supporters during the Governor’s Arts Awards at noon Friday, March 8, at the Robinson Center in Little Rock.

“The arts are a vital component of Arkansas’ quality of life, economy, cultural development, identity, history and heritage,” said Shea Lewis, cabinet secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. “I believe keeping the arts strong will lead to an even brighter future for our state.”

Short films about the award recipients will be unveiled during the ceremony. Artists and arts patrons will speak about their work and accept one-of-a-kind artworks created by Hot Springs pottery artist Larry Pennington.  

“Arkansas is filled with talented artists and fantastic creativity of all kinds,” said Patrick Ralston, director of the Arkansas Arts Council. “The state is fortunate to have individuals and companies who recognize the value of art and continually support artistic opportunities for the residents of Arkansas.”

Tickets to attend the luncheon are $40 each and available here. Tickets must be purchased by February 23rd. Limited seats remain.

Governor’s Arts Awards recipients are nominated by the public, then selected by an independent panel of arts professionals from around the state. Nominees are judged, in part, on the significance of their contributions and achievements in the arts.

This year’s awardees are: 

• Garbo Hearne of Little Rock - Arts Community Development Award
• Virmarie DePoyster of North Little Rock - Arts in Education Award
• Pam Setser of Mountain View - Folklife Award
• Stephen Driver of Ozark - Individual Artist Award
• Tony Waller of Bentonville - Patron Award
• Charley Sandage of Mountain View - Lifetime Achievement Award
• Gay Bechtelheimer of El Dorado - Judges Recognition Award
• General Mills of Rogers - Corporate Sponsorship of the Arts Award.

For more information contact Cheri Leffew, special events-projects manager.

Other Exciting Events

Find Another Event