Division of Arkansas Heritage announces recipients of Public Art Grants

Blog Post Author

Posted By

Nathan Treece

Public Information Specialist

Tuesday, January 17th 2023
Share This Blog
Division of Arkansas Heritage announces recipients of Public Art Grants
Main Street Arkansas and Downtown Newtork communities receive funds for public art

(LITTLE ROCK) – The Division of Arkansas Heritage announced today that $32,160 in funds has been distributed to six Arkansas communities that applied for grants through the 2022 Public Art Grant Program.
The Public Art Grants are open to communities currently participating in the Main Street Arkansas or Downtown Network programs. The grants program assists with planning and implementation (including purchasing and commissioning works of art) of public art for places viewable by the public within the Main Street district and on gateways to Main Street districts.
Projects must be new, site-specific public art and can include murals and tile work, paintings and drawings (of a permanent nature) and sculpture. After installation, the communities host an unveiling event in coordination with the Division of Arkansas Heritage.
The 2022 Public Art Grants recipients are:
  • Argenta Arts Foundation for “Trail of Tears at the Argenta Library” – $5,700
  • Calico Rock Community Foundation, Inc. for “A Run of Trout in Calico Rock” – $2,500
  • Clarksville-Johnson County Chamber of Commerce for “Clarksville Mural” – $4,160
  • Main Street Dumas for “Art in the Park” – $3,350
  • Main Street Morrilton for “Morrilton, Small City, No Limits” – $8,250
  • Main Street Ozark for “Music to Ozark” – Riverfront Development – $8,200

Photos of the event can be found here.

Main Street Arkansas
Main Street Arkansas works to strengthen and preserve historic downtowns and Main Street districts across the state. It provides technical assistance, resources, and ongoing education to local programs to help them implement and excel in the Main Street Four-Point Approach, creating a vivid and vital sense of place. It is a program of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of Arkansas Heritage within the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism.
Arkansas Historic Preservation Program
AHPP is an agency of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. 
Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism
The Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism protects and promotes our state’s natural, cultural and historic assets, contributing to a thriving economy and high quality of life. It is made up of three divisions: Arkansas State Parks, Arkansas Heritage and Arkansas Tourism. Mike Mills serves as the cabinet secretary for the department.

Popular Blog Posts

Filter Blogs