Nominations Open for Arkansas Food Hall of Fame

Arkansas Food Hall of Fame - Thursday, October 12, 2017 Department of Arkansas Heritage - Thursday, October 12, 2017

Department of Arkansas Heritage Director Stacy Hurst announced recently that the nomination period for the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame is now open. Nominations will remain open through October 31, 2017. This is the second year for the statewide program to recognize the legendary restaurants, proprietors and food-themed events across the state.

“Food culture in Arkansas is a significant aspect of our state’s heritage, just like architecture or music,” said Hurst. “The Department of Arkansas Heritage is proud to honor Arkansas’s food traditions through the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame, highlighting this integral part of who we are.”

Nominations are being accepted at in five categories:

  • Arkansas Food Hall of Fame

This award recognizes those long-standing restaurants that have become legendary attractions in Arkansas.

  • Proprietor of the Year

This award honors a chef, cook and/or restaurant owner in Arkansas who has made significant achievements in the food industry.

  • Food-Themed Event

This award honors one of the many community food-themed events or festivals that make our state a great place to live.

  • People’s Choice

This award is truly in the hands of Arkansans. The restaurant or food truck that receives the highest number of votes wins.

  • Gone But Not Forgotten

This award honors the collective culinary legacy of a once-and-always influential Arkansas restaurant that has since ceased operations.

The 13-member Arkansas Food Hall of Fame Committee will select finalists from the entries, and then select winners in each category. Winners are chosen by a specialized group of committee members. Honorees and finalists will be announced at a special ceremony in Spring 2018.

Nominate your favorites for all five categories on now through October 31, 2017.