Nominate for the 2019 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame

Arkansas Food Hall of Fame - Thursday, October 04, 2018 Department of Arkansas Heritage - Thursday, October 04, 2018 2018 - Thursday, October 04, 2018 Storyline - Thursday, October 04, 2018

The nomination period for the 2019 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame is now open! Nominations will be accepted through October 31.

This is the third year for the statewide program to recognize the legendary restaurants, proprietors and food-themed events from every part of the state.

“Food is an integral part of who we are as Arkansans. The Arkansas Food Hall of Fame honors Arkansas food culture as a significant and specific aspect of our state’s heritage,” said Stacy Hurst, director of the Arkansas Department of Heritage. “We want to hear about your local favorites when it comes to food – food events, people and places.”

Nominations are being accepted at in five categories:

  • Arkansas Food Hall of Fame – This award recognizes those long- standing restaurants that have become legendary attractions in Arkansas.
  • Proprietor of the Year – This award honors a chef, cook and/or restaurant owner in Arkansas who has made significant achievements in the food industry.
  • Food-Themed Event – This award honors a community food-themed event or festival that makes our state a great place to live and visit.
  • People’s Choice – Identifies the public’s favorite. This award is truly in the hands of Arkansans. The restaurant or food truck that receives the highest number of votes wins.
  • Gone But Not Forgotten – Remembers the collective culinary legacy of a once-and-always influential Arkansas restaurant that has since ceased operations.

Winners will be chosen this winter by a committee of Arkansans who are historians, chefs, foodies and food authors. Committee members include, Paul S. Austin, Evette Brady, Chip Culpepper, Cindy Grisham, Stacy Hurst, Montine McNulty, Tim Morton, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Kat Robinson, Wendy Richter, Christina Shutt and Swannee Bennett.

Honorees and finalists will be announced at a special ceremony on February 25, 2019, at the CALS Ron Robinson Theater in Downtown Little Rock.

You can make your nominations at