Blog

Blog

Top 5 Historic Sites to See in Mountain Home Commercial Historic District

DAH Blog: Top 5 Historic Sites to See in Mountain Home Commercial Historic District

Don’t miss the “Walks through History” tour of the Mountain Home Commercial Historic District happening September 9! Before you go, learn more about the Top 5 Historic Sites to Visit in Mountain Home.

Originally incorporated as a town in 1888, Mountain Home’s original settlement was named for Rapp Barren, a settler who established a trading post in the very same location in the early 1800s. Most of the buildings in this area are commercial masonry structures, one or two stories tall, and vernacular in style. They were not typically built by formally-schooled architects, but relied on the design skills and tradition of local builders.

With its central location and strong educational background, Mountain Home became the county seat of Baxter County in 1873. Many of the buildings in Mountain Home’s historic district were constructed between about 1900 and 1920, after the arrival of the railroad.


The Baker Building (1892)
The oldest building in the Mountain Home Commercial District is the 1892 Baker Building. It sits on the corner of Baker and 6th Street and currently houses a men's clothing store and a children's clothing store. The first floor consists of two separate storefronts made of metal and glass entryways, with brick framed windows. The building’s second story boasts five tall one-over-one double hung windows – centered over the street numbers.

Old City Hall and Fire Station (1940)
The Old City Hall and Fire Station was built in 1940 and has been home to the Mountain Home City Hall, fire department, revenue office, county library and attorney's office in its past. This building was constructed by Oscar Baker and sits at the north end of Baker Street, and the J. Asa Baker House sits at the south end of Baker Street. The buildings were constructed strategically, located so that Baker Street would begin and end with Baker buildings. Early images of the building show it with a stucco veneer and the words “Fire Dep’t City Hall” painted across the front.

T.E. Robertson Building (1936)
Step back in time to the T.E. Robertson Building, constructed in 1936 as T.E. Robertson’s general store. The slogan painted on the front of the building read “T.E. Robertson, Everything for Everybody.” Robertson’s store remained in the building until about 1953, when it became Ben Franklin Store and Bean’s Grocery. The building was a red brick construction with transom windows, which are covered by awnings. Now painted yellow, the stone panel with “T.E. Robertson” engraved in it is centered in the parapet. The seemingly simple design boasts some decorative brickwork, including soldier and stretcher courses as well as rows of brick designs.

The People’s Bank Building (circa 1904)
This two-story rough-cut stone building was constructed around 1904. It stands as the only remaining building from an original historic photograph of the south side of the square. The building was originally constructed to house The People’s Bank, but has also housed The Pool Room, a café, and Oklahoma Tire and Supply. Most of the buildings on Mountain Home’s courthouse square are constructed in the rustic style typical of towns in the Ozark Mountain region. The building is believed to have been built with local stone and remnants of previously deconstructed regional buildings.

Building on corner of Baker St. and 7th St. (“Mountain Home Floral Company”—circa 1920)
The building on the southwest corner was likely constructed circa 1920, and features a combination of rough-cut stone blocks and red bricks. The building has a cut-away entrance and a stepped parapet on its eastern side. This building housed a hardware and appliance store as early as 1951. The decorative brick with local stones make this building unique in aesthetic, and it has been well maintained over time.