Grants Available for Arkansas Heritage Projects, Events


LITTLE ROCK— Stacy Hurst, secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage & Tourism, announced today that grants of up to $5,000 are available to help nonprofit organizations develop local events and projects that promote awareness and enjoyment of Arkansas heritage. The grants are designed to help foster awareness and enjoyment of Arkansas heritage and to assist in planning and implementing meaningful Arkansas projects such as exhibits, events or festivals and curriculum or teaching tools.

“For many years, the Department of Arkansas Heritage (DAH) conducted a Heritage Month grant program that sponsored events or programs that took place during the month of May only,” said Hurst. “Organizations often told us that they could use the funds for other programming throughout the year, so we listened, went to the Legislature for permission to expand the program and are happy to announce the first round of grants are now open for application.”

Grants guidelines and the application packet are available at here. For more information, contact the DAH Grant Coordinator, 1100 North Street, Little Rock, 72201; fax (501) 324-9150, or by e-mailing [email protected]. Online applications must be completed and submitted by 4:30 p.m. on Friday, September 13, 2019.

A workshop for prospective applicants will be held on Tuesday, July 30, from 1 to 4 p.m. at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Diamond Room, 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201. Topics will include an overview of the guidelines and application process and online application assistance. Instructions for registering for the free workshop are found on the application page on the web site.

The Division of Arkansas Heritage is committed to the discovery, preservation and presentation of our state’s natural and cultural heritage. The division accomplishes its goals through the work of nine agencies: Arkansas Arts Council, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Capitol Zoning District Commission, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, Arkansas State Archives, Delta Cultural Center in Helena, Historic Arkansas Museum, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and Old State House Museum.