Announcements and publicity associated with the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame

Arkansas Food Hall of Fame Mentioned in Arkansas Online

Story originally in Arkansas Online:

And the Department of Arkansas Heritage has named the finalists for its second class of entrants into the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame, recognizing "Arkansas' legendary restaurants, proprietors and food-theme events across the state." A panel of 13 food professionals and writers sifted through 450 submissions in five categories from 40 counties, turned in Sept. 11-Oct.31, and came up with this list:

• Arkansas Food Hall of Fame (places doing business for 25 years or more): Franke's Cafeteria, Little Rock; Feltner's Whatta-Burger, Russellville; Doe's Eat Place, Little Rock; Kream Kastle, Blytheville; McClard's Bar-B-Q Restaurant, Hot Springs; Bruno's Little Italy, Little Rock; White House Cafe, Camden (Ouachita County); Ed Walker's Drive-In, Fort Smith; Neal's Cafe, Springdale; Dixie Pig, Blytheville; Venesian Inn, Tontitown; DeVito's, Eureka Springs.

• Proprietor of the Year: Mary Beth Ringgold (Cajun's Wharf, Capers, Copper Grill); Capi Peck (Trio's); Scott McGehee (Yellow Rocket Concepts); Matt McClure (The Hive, Bentonville)

• Food-Themed Events: Bradley County Pink Tomato Festival, Hope Watermelon Festival, International Greek Food Festival, Gillett Coon Supper, World Championship Duck Gumbo Cook Off

• Gone But Not Forgotten: Jacques and Suzanne, Little Rock; Klappenbach Bakery, Fordyce; Coy's Steak House, Hot Springs; Cotham's Mercantile, Scott

The winner of the People's Choice Award, chosen solely based on the number of nominations for a particular restaurant, will be announced at the reception (5:30 p.m.) and induction ceremony (6:15 p.m.), March 6 at the Ron Robinson Theater, 100 River Market Ave., Little Rock. Tickets are $20; call (501) 324-9349 or email [email protected] Reservation deadline is Feb. 26. Visit 

Credit: Arkansas Online