The History of DAH

Department of Arkansas Heritage - Thursday, April 30, 2015

The Department of Arkansas Heritage (DAH) was created in 1975 to preserve and promote Arkansas’s natural and cultural heritage as a source of pride and enjoyment for all. Originally, the agency had a different name. The original legislation named the agency the Department of Arkansas Natural and Cultural Heritage. The agency’s name was changed to its current title in 1985. 

The impetus behind the creation of the department was to group together existing state agencies that were culturally oriented. Several legislators sponsored Act 1001 of 1975, which created the department and brought together six agencies. DAH presently consists of seven agencies, each with its own special contributions, and a director’s office, which manages general administrative and marketing operations. 

The agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council (AAC), which seeks to advance the arts in Arkansas; the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP), which manages the state’s historic and cultural resources and operates the Main Street Arkansas program; the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission (ANHC), which establishes and maintains the Arkansas System of Natural Areas, including a central repository on rare and endangered species; the Delta Cultural Center (DCC), located in downtown Helena-West Helena (Phillips County), which is the state’s most complete repository of artifacts chronicling the life and times of the people, traditions, music, and art of Arkansas’s Delta region; the Historic Arkansas Museum (HAM), which is accredited by the American Association of Museums and is the state’s foremost interpreter of frontier Arkansas, chronicling the social, political, and creative history of the state through the nineteenth century; the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center (MTCC), which tells the story of Arkansas’s African Americans from 1870 to the present; and the Old State House Museum (OSHM), located in the oldest standing capitol west of the Mississippi, which is today a multimedia museum of Arkansas history accredited by the American Association of Museums, with a special emphasis on political history, women’s history, and historical programming for schoolchildren. In 1990, the Delta Cultural Center was opened in Helena and added to the Department of Arkansas Heritage. In 2003, legislation created the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, a museum for African-American history and culture, and placed it under the direction of DAH.