Herbarium Specimens

Department of Arkansas Heritage - Tuesday, January 26, 2016

Did you know there are at least four plant species that are native to only Arkansas? These Arkansas natives have been discovered no where else in the world. Watch the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission video to learn more!   Read More

Value of Natural Areas

Department of Arkansas Heritage - Tuesday, June 16, 2015
  Read More

Historic Places: Louisiana Purchase Marker

Department of Arkansas Heritage - Wednesday, April 29, 2015

 Historic Places: The Louisiana Purchase Marker is located at the junction of Phillips, Lee and Monroe counties in eastern Arkansas. The marker commemorates the “initial point” from which land surveys of the territory acquired through the Louisiana Purchase of 1803 were surveyed. The land surveys for all or parts of the states of Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Missouri, Kansas, Colorado, Nebraska, Iowa, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming and Montana were measured from this point in the middle of an eastern Arkansas swamp.   Read More