Museum to Present Free Music Performances, extend hours once a month

Department of Arkansas Heritage - Tuesday, February 03, 2015

The Old State House Museum announced today its schedule for Second Friday Art Night at the Museum. The Museum will present musical performances and extend its hours on the second Friday of each month.

The Old State House Museum will remain open until 8:00 each night so that guests can enjoy the Museum’s exhibits during their visit. This extension of hours is the only time to enjoy the Old State House Museum after 5:00 p.m. On February 13, from 5:00 to 6:30, violinist Geoff Robson and cellist Felice Farrell will perform solo works for violin and cello by J.S. Bach.

The program includes the Sonata for Solo Violin No. 2 in A minor and the Suite for Solo Cello No. 6 in D Major, and will be performed in the acoustically rich 1885 House of Representatives Chamber. The event is very informal, and aims to provide museum-goers with an opportunity to hear expert musicians performing classic compositions. Visitors are welcome to drop in and seat themselves during the performance. Robson has been the associate conductor of the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra since 2008, and the music director of the Arkansas Symphony Orchestra Youth Ensembles since 2012. Farrell has taught and played cello for over forty years. She has played with the Minnesota Orchestra and the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra. She currently performs with the Kapelle Trio and is an artist on the Arkansas Arts Council’s Arts in Education roster.

Full Schedule:

February 13 – Cello duets with Geoff Robson and Felice Farrell

March 13 - The Arkansas Chamber Singers Spring Concert, featuring music of the Civil War

April 10– String trios led by Geoff Robson

May 8– Tribute to Sister Rosetta Tharpe, led by Arkansongs creator and host Stephen Koch

June 12 – A musical celebration of Arkansas Statehood with Geoff Robson and Bonnie Montgomery 

About the Old State House Museum

The Old State House Museum is a museum of the Department of Arkansas Heritage and shares the goal of all seven Department of Arkansas Heritage agencies, that of preserving and enhancing the heritage of the state of Arkansas. The agencies are Arkansas Arts Council, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, Delta Cultural Center in Helena, Historic Arkansas Museum, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, and the Old State House Museum.