Arkansas Arts Council Announces 2020 Small Works on Paper Artists

LITTLE ROCK, AR — The Arkansas Arts Council, a division of Arkansas Heritage, is pleased to announce the 36 Arkansas artists whose work will be included the 2020 Small Works on Paper touring exhibition.

Thirty-nine artworks will be on display in nine galleries statewide during the yearlong tour. The exhibition will open Thursday, Jan. 9, at the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center at 501 W. Ninth St. in Little Rock. The opening reception will be from 5:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. the same day and will feature talks by participating artists. The exhibition and opening reception are free. The exhibition will run through Jan. 25.

The following artists were selected to participate in the exhibit:

1.Oluwatobi K. Adewumi, of McNeil

2.John Ahlen, of Little Rock

3.Martin Balsam, of Little Rock

4.Ebony Blevins, of Little Rock

5.Win Bruhl, of Little Rock

6.Brian Cormack, of Little Rock

7.Anais Dasse, of Little Rock

8.Terra Fondriest, of St. Joe

9.B. Jeannie Fry, of Cabot

10.Catherine Goenner, of Bella Vista

11.Diane Harper, of Little Rock

12.Diana Michelle Hausam, of West Fork

13.Karlyn S. Holloway, of Austin

14.Jeff Horton, of Little Rock

15.Cary Jenkins, of Little Rock

16.Hannah Jeremiah, of Van Buren

17.Kimiara L. Johnson, of Pine Bluff

18.Kathleen Keefe, of Little Rock

19.John P. Lasater, IV, of Siloam Springs

20.Sigrid Lorfing, of Russellville

21.Lisa Martin, of Clarksville

22.Ray Ogar, of Little Rock

23.Karen Perry, of Hot Springs

24.Michael Preble, of Hot Springs

25.Lynn Reinbolt, of Searcy

26.Charlotte Bailey Rierson, of Fairfield Bay

27.Jane Rockwell, North Little Rock

28.Sabine Schmidt, of Fayetteville

29.Dominique Simmons, of Little Rock

30.Gary Simmons, of Hot Springs

31.Thomas Quinton Stanford, of Siloam Springs

32.Joe Stewart, of Bentonville

33.Brian Wolf, of North Little Rock

34.Terry Wright, of Little Rock

35.Anna Zusman, of Magnolia

Small Works on Paper is a juried visual art exhibition that showcases artwork no larger than 18-by-24 inches. The work is by Arkansas artists who are members of the Arkansas Artist Registry, an online gallery. The exhibition features new and established artists and offers those artists the opportunity to have their work seen by patrons all over the state.

This year’s entries were juried by Jamie Adams, associate professor of art at the Sam Fox School of Design and Visual Arts at Washington University in St. Louis. Adams reviewed nearly 300 submitted artworks to pick the 39 works in the exhibit. He also selected the following works to receive purchase awards, which are cash prizes equivalent to the value of the artwork. Purchase award pieces become part of the Small Works on Paper permanent collection.

“Proud Tower,” acrylic and collage, by John Ahlen of Little Rock

“Self-Portrait,” charcoal, by Martin Balsam of Little Rock

“Ozark Gaming,” photograph, by Terra Fondriest of St. Joe

“Post,” photograph, by Cary Jenkins of Little Rock

“Reflections of Winter Series 1, Winter’s Kiss,” watercolor by Charlotte Bailey Rierson of Fairfield Bay

“Jonathan,” by Jane Rockwell of North Little Rock

“Palm Hours,” acrylic on paper, by Brian Wolf of North Little Rock

For more information about Small Works on Paper, contact Cheri Leffew at 501-324-9767 or [email protected]. Information is also available at

About the Arkansas Arts Council

The Arkansas Arts Council advances the arts in Arkansas by providing services and supporting arts endeavors that encourage and assist literary, performing and visual artists in achieving standards of professional excellence. In addition, the Arkansas Arts Council provides technical and financial assistance to Arkansas arts organizations and other providers of cultural and educational programs.

The Arkansas Arts Council is division of Arkansas Heritage. Other divisions are the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, Arkansas State Archives, Delta Cultural Center in Helena, Historic Arkansas Museum, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Old State House Museum. Funding for the Arkansas Arts Council and its programs is provided by the State of Arkansas and the National Endowment for the Arts.