The Department of Arkansas Heritage was created in 1975 to preserve and promote Arkansas’s heritage as a source of pride and enjoyment for all. It consists of seven divisions, that is, four museums and three heritage resource agencies, each providing Arkansas information resources and unique contributions to the preservation and promotion of Arkansas heritage.

A central Director’s Office coordinates and promotes agency efforts to make our Arkansas information and materials accessible to all through annual heritage and cultural events, educational resources and special publications. We believe that understanding and appreciating our heritage makes us better citizens. Knowing who we are and where we come from lets us create a better future for us all. Please join us in our efforts to make that goal a reality.


Heritage Museums in Arkansas:

Delta Cultural Center
chronicles the legacy of the Arkansas Delta

Historic Arkansas Museum
interprets pioneer life on the Arkansas frontier

Mosaic Templars Cultural Center
promotes the story of Arkansas’s African-Americans from 1870 to the present

Old State House Museum
illustrates Arkansas’s political past

Heritage Resource Agencies:

Arkansas Arts Council
advances and empowers the arts in Arkansas

Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission
establishes and maintains a system of Natural Areas, including a central repository on endangered species

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program
manages the state’s historic and cultural resources and to operate the Main Street Arkansas program